jump to navigation

Growing up on X June 3, 2006

Posted by quiapo in Musings / Random Thoughts, Reviews.
trackback

I've been a big fan of the comic book series, especially during my late primary schooling. My biggest collection and addiction has been the X-men and Superman comics which I've read since I was a kid. In the early 90s, Marvel trading cards were printed locally (and illegally). It became popular in the Philippines and every middle class kid was drooling over the Infinity Gauntlet, Adam Warlock, and Thanos. The children of the ninetees had a crash course on the Marvel Universe, and we knew more about superheroes than elementary Geography.

Then the X-men trading card set followed and every kid discovered Wolverine, Cyclops, Arch-Angel, Magneto, Domino (strangely there was a lot of printed Domino cards even though she was a 6 Pack/X Force minor character) and the rest of the X men family. Like every kid I wanted to be Wolverine, with the bling bling adamantium claws (beat that 50!), bad-ass looking beard, a costume which, even if it was collored yellow (nice fashion statement Logan…), was still tougher looking than Batman's armor (complete with detailed tits) and a "dont mess with me boy I'm gonna gut you" attitude.

I grew up reading the comic books, I collected the X-Men series (as opposed to the Uncanny X-men series), and it had a lot of influence in the formation of how I think. The science fiction in X-men really intrigued me, I've been interested in science since I was a toddler, and the X-men's explanations/theories on mutation, new (fictional) technologies, other planets (Shi'ar mainly), parallel dimensions, and the scientific treatment of paranormal things (such as ISP and telekinesis) amazed my young mind. My adolescence was even guided by the X-men, the "Generation X" line, which was about forming a group of young mutants which will eventually become X-men, gave me ideas (or fantasies) as to how to cope up with the problems of growing up. I was so addicted on the X-men that even now when office talk involves stories about the X men I can hear the organ heavy theme song of the cartoons in my mind (now I really dig the psychedelic new "The Batman" opening theme.)

Now that I just watched the new X-Men movie, I can't help but feel nostalgic.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

