jump to navigation

The Lancer Quest: Me vs. the Evil Greedy Sales Agents October 15, 2012

Posted by quiapo in badtrip na naman si pierre, Gripes / Flames / Rants, Musings / Random Thoughts.
Tags: , ,
trackback

So imagine that I just won Mr. Pogi of the Universe 2012 and I’m planning to buy the new Lancer 1.6L EX GLX variant with my winnings. I’ve been searching online for a nice price and most online listings are at Php 750-778k due to discounts. Now, I’ll be buying the unit, to make the long story short, in cash. I also won’t be getting the LTO registration and comprehensive insurance from the dealer because I’m gonna ship the car to my good friend who’s in Angola so he can sell it there for the price of two Audi QQs.

(Now, don’t imagine the next details because all the following details are true. With the previous paragraph however, only the list price for the Lancer EX GLX is true.)

The problem is that almost all the sales agents I’ve talked to don’t want to give me the list price on their ads because I’ll be paying in cash. They are claiming that the 750k discounted price is only for purchase via financing. If it was, then why do they still post that amount in online sites like sulit.com.ph, Olx, and Ayosdito.ph?

And they don’t want to give me additional discount because I won’t be getting the LTO registration and comprehensive insurance from them. Considering that LTO is about 7k, and compre is another 22k (roughly) so aside from the 750-778k list price, I think it’s just fair that I get another 29k discount aside from the standard discount given by Mitsubishi PH.

In addition, agents say that LTO and compre are considered freebies so there will be no deductions if I opted not to get it from them. Some are even “garapal” that they say that the compre and LTO are on-top of the Php 778k price so to my surprise (and irritation) I’ll be paying more!

Now, that’s just not right. First of all, if all was right in the world and this was a logical world where truth and love and honesty governed, (and Nur Misuari wasn’t so negative on the peace process) the list price for the car should be the same if you get it via financing or cash. The only thing that should change if you get it via financing is that there would be interest involved, so the total paid up price after so many years would be much higher. As for LTO registration and comprehensive insurance, I call bullshit on people that say it’s free. These are items that have verified costs, and if indeed these things are free, then why can’t I get alternative free stuff like a spoiler, a backing sensor, GPS, and reverse camera in lieu of the LTO and insurance?

If Mitsubishi is plagued by sales agents like these and I can’t find an honest sales agent (ala Sodom and Gomorrah) I might just get a boring as stone Altis.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

